US

I recently read “The palace of illusions” and came across that Draupadi, which I had never known of. I won’t comment on, if I believe in these mythological stories and their characters, but yes, through this book, I came to know draupadi just as I would like to know a friend. So, below is a narrative by draupadi to karana, while her departure from earth.

I lay numb on the white sheets of snow
Dying a breath, a time
My body rests freezed, motionless
But deep within I feel some weird warmth
Maybe of the fire I hold within
Or maybe of your sun,
Which we never shared

It hurts, to accept how we were just puppets
In destiny’s hands
Yet I smile an unknown smile
I feel how slowly I am loosing all my senses
And closing my eyes, all I want to see is you.

The warmth slowly overpowers
I feel, as if in a trance, lighter than ever

In some parallel universe, we meet
I tell you, of all those things
I dared not to open even to myself
You tell me of the times
When you wanted to come running to me
But held on
We were the Protagonists or rather the Antagonists of our stories
All tied up in some unknown hands
But now, we’re above it all, hand in hand,
We apologize, we confess, we cry, we smile
In that parallel universe,
When you are mine, and I am yours
We tell how much we’ve loved each other for a lifetime
And then, you depart
Coz we know we can never be ‘we’

I lay numb on the white sheet of snow
Dying a breath, a time
My heart is still warm within
But I know, It’s my fire that glows
Coz your sun is never for us to share !

Fire – Draupadi was born out of fire.

Sun – Karana was Sun’s Son.

One comment

Leave a comment